I Want to Love You

I want to love you
Like melody-
Strung
To a falling
Leaf in the deep
Realms of the forest…

…Holding on despite
The odds.
Never leaving
Even when gone.

I want to love you
In picket fenced afternoons
When I am not here
Neither there
But your lion eyes
Can bring me back.

I want to love you
through wicked
Nights of honest
Drudgery.
When you are sick and
Tired
And I’m brooding
Me.

I want to love you
By the ides
Of march and may and November
I want to come back to love
In December.
I want to love you
Through every momentous
End.
I want to love you
Like lover.
Like Friend.

I want to love you
In Silence.
After floating in
The quiet rumbling
That often conspires in
The mind…

…Thinking over
Nothing.
And everything.
And probabilities.
And Silence.

I want to love you
In passionate
Dreams
Where nothing
And no one watches…

…When truth is
Mine alone
And manipulation waits
With a fantasy
I want to still love you
Openly.

I want to love
You like the Tiger
To the wild.
Always grateful
For the green
The Sun
The hunting
Shadow of the night.

I want to love you in Darkness
When the earth
Has failed
And fireflies
Light up the Moon…

…You’ll know I’m real.

I want to love you In
Chaos
Through the violence
of a crowded room
Tearing sound
Glaring eyes
And there you are
At a distance.

And I want to love you in
Freedom.
When far away you
And further still I
When you are on your
Path, feeling, breathing
Living without the sound
Of my voice on your lips,
Without the warmth of my breath
In your sigh
When decisions are yours
When you could be running
So unbounded and free.
Distinct in your colour
And un-needing of me.

That’s when I want to love you most,
And I hope-That’s when you’ll love me.

2 thoughts on “I Want to Love You

  1. silentfingers says:

    You have the kind of “ink” that seep into the pores of the heart. Such eloquence!

Leave a Reply

